Alternatives to the Sale Barn: How to Calculate What a Steer Is Worth Sold Direct

Meat e-commerce › Guides

Alternatives to the Sale Barn: How to Calculate What a Steer Is Worth Sold Direct

By Herbert Timpson. Reading time: about 11 minutes.

A 1,300 lb steer brought about $3,012 at the USDA-reported Kansas negotiated price for the week ending September 20, 2026 ($231.68 per cwt live). The same steer sold direct as four quarters at $1,300 each grosses $5,200 and nets about $3,778 after processing, card fees, marketing and delivery, using the assumptions shown below. That is roughly $766 more per head, before your labor. The direct route pays only if you book processor slots first and sell every quarter.

At a glance

  • Auction reference: $231.68 per cwt, negotiated grid steers, live basis, Kansas, week ending September 20, 2026 (USDA AMS LM_CT140).
  • Feeder reference: 912 lb steers at $313.50 per cwt, Winter Livestock, Dodge City, September 23, 2026 (USDA AMS).
  • Yields used: 62 percent dressing, 65 percent cutting yield: 1,300 lb live, 806 lb hanging, about 524 lb take-home (SDSU Extension).
  • Processing used: $75 butcher fee, $0.95 per lb, $105 surcharge over 1,000 lb (Kensington Lockers, September 26, 2026).
  • Result: auction gross $3,011.84; direct net $3,778.30; difference $766.46 per head before labor.
  • Break-even: about 8 quarters a year (two head).

This guide is part of the AMA meat e-commerce library. The weight math follows the hanging weight guide; the hanging weight calculator runs your own animal.

What does a finished steer bring at auction right now?

Start with a real number, not a memory of one. For the week ending September 20, 2026, USDA’s Kansas Weekly Direct Slaughter Cattle Report (LM_CT140, dated September 21, 2026) shows negotiated grid steers, live basis, all grades, at a weighted average of $231.68 per cwt on 2,809 head, range $220.24 to $237.33, average weight 1,593 lb (USDA AMS).

Two honest notes. That is a packer price, not a ring price; a single steer at a local barn sees an order buyer and usually a lower check. And those cattle averaged 1,593 lb, so a 1,300 lb steer may be discounted. $231.68 is a generous reference on purpose: direct should beat a fair auction number, not a rigged one.

If you sell earlier, as a feeder, the barn is the right comparison. At Winter Livestock in Dodge City on September 23, 2026, 50 head of 912 lb Medium and Large 1 steers sold at $313.50 per cwt (USDA AMS): $2,859.12 a head before commission and trucking.

What are the alternatives to the sale barn?

Shares (quarters, halves, wholes). The buyer reserves a fraction of a live animal with a deposit and pays the balance at processing. The full flow is in the beef shares guide.

Boxes and cuts. A USDA-inspected plant returns labeled cuts you sell by the package or ship in boxes. More per pound on steaks, but the ground beef must sell too, and you carry inventory.

A mix. Sell the quarters you can, then move the rest as boxes. That is what Diamond R does.

Freezer beef to neighbors. A handshake, a custom-exempt processor, the buyer pays the locker. A few head a year, no scale, no customer list. The legal line is in how to legally sell meat from your farm.

A local processor’s retail program. Some inspected plants buy finished cattle for their own counter or brand. Steady outlet, no marketing work, and a price that reflects it: you are selling a carcass, not a story. See the meat processor direct sales guide.

A co-op or producer group. Several ranches pool animals under one brand, one website and one processor. It solves slots and volume and creates a governance problem. Worth it with three or more ranches on the same finishing program.

The reason to consider any of these is in the packer closures guide: the fewer buyers for a fed steer, the more the price is set for you. Direct is the route where you set it.

How do you calculate what a steer is worth sold direct?

Net per head (direct) = Gross share revenue − Processing − Card fees − Marketing − Delivery

Net per head (auction) = Live weight × Price per cwt ÷ 100 − Commission − Yardage − Trucking

Every line below is a sourced public number or a labeled assumption. One 1,300 lb steer, both routes.

Step 1: the auction side

Gross = 1,300 × $231.68 ÷ 100 = $3,011.84 (USDA AMS LM_CT140, week ending September 20, 2026). Commission, yardage and trucking are left at $0, which favors the auction; subtract your own barn’s commission, yardage and trucking. Net at auction: $3,011.84.

Step 2: the weights

Hanging weight = 1,300 × 0.62 = 806 lb, using the low end of SDSU’s 62 to 64 percent dressing for fed beef (Nebraska and Mississippi State give 60 to 64). Take-home = 806 × 0.65 = about 524 lb, using SDSU’s typical 65 percent cutting yield (range 55 to 75). That is about 131 lb per quarter, listed conservatively at 110 lb, the house rule from the hanging weight guide and the number Diamond R prints.

Step 3: the direct side, four quarters

Line Value Source or label
Quarter, all in $1,300 for 110+ lb packaged, $400 deposit, $900 at processing Diamond R Cattle, Kansas City page, September 26, 2026
Gross, four quarters 4 × 1,300 = $5,200 Formula
Deposits at reservation 4 × 400 = $1,600 Same page
Balance at processing 4 × 900 = $3,600 Same page
Butcher fee $75 Kensington Lockers rate page
Processing per lb 806 × 0.95 = $765.70 Kensington Lockers. Assumption: per hanging pound; basis not stated
Surcharge, beef over 1,000 lb $105 Kensington Lockers. Assumption: applies; live or hanging not stated
Processing total 75 + 765.70 + 105 = $945.70 Formula
Card fees 5,200 × 0.03 = $156 Assumption: about 3 percent on card checkout
Marketing $200 Assumption: ads, email software, photos, posting time
Delivery $120 Assumption: fuel and time for four handoffs
Total costs 945.70 + 156 + 200 + 120 = $1,421.70 Formula
Net per head, direct 5,200 − 1,421.70 = $3,778.30 Formula

Step 4: the comparison

Direct $3,778.30 − Auction $3,011.84 = +$766.46 per head, about 25 percent more, before labor. Per expected take-home pound (524 lb), that is $9.92 direct against $5.75 at auction. Cash on sale day: all of it at the barn, $1,600 in deposits direct.

The listed price is $11.82 per pound ($1,300 ÷ 110); a quarter that yields 131 lb realizes $9.92. That gap is the cost of listing conservatively, and it is worth paying: every buyer gets more than promised. Sold as two halves at Diamond R’s $2,500, net is $3,578.30, still $566 ahead.

What does the direct route really cost?

Four things the tables do not show, and why some ranches try direct once and go back to the barn.

Time. The auction takes a morning. Direct takes reservation calls, cut sheets, processor scheduling, pickups and follow-up. At eight hours a head and $25 an hour (both assumptions), that is $200, and the advantage drops to about $566.

Cash flow. At the barn the check clears in days. Direct, the deposit ($1,600 here) comes at reservation and the balance ($3,600) at harvest, months later, while you are still feeding the steer.

Processor slots. A share is a promise to deliver beef on a date, and you can only make it with a slot booked. Book for the head you expect to sell over two seasons before you list a quarter. The big cost is a sold quarter with no kill date.

Risk. A deposit holder can walk (a non-refundable deposit limits that), an animal can dress light (a conservative listed weight limits that), a processor can lose a slot (a second processor limits that). None of these exist at the barn.

How many shares a year make it worth it?

Break-even shares per year = Annual fixed costs of selling direct ÷ Advantage per share

Line Value Source or label
Store subscription $39 × 12 = $468 Shopify Basic, per the platform comparison
Other fixed costs $600 Assumption: domain, email tool, photos, signage
Annual fixed costs $1,068 Formula
Advantage per head, after labor 766.46 − 200 = $566.46 Tables above, labor as assumed
Advantage per quarter 566.46 ÷ 4 = $141.62 Formula
Break-even 1,068 ÷ 141.62 = 7.5, so 8 quarters (two head) Formula

Two head a year is a low bar and an honest one. Below it, the store costs more than it earns over the barn. Above it, every quarter is about $142 better than the ring after every cost here.

How AMA handles this

Agriculture Marketing Agency does not sell your cattle. We build the machine that lets you sell them: share pages that state take-home weight and one all-in price, city and state pages so the family 40 miles away finds you, an email sequence that turns a deposit into a balance payment and a pickup, and warm-audience ads. We run the numbers above with your rate sheet and your barn’s commission first; sometimes the answer is “sell the feeders and keep two head for shares.” That is the work behind the Diamond R Cattle case study.

The work runs on the store the ranch already has, whether that is Shopify, where the Diamond R program runs, or a farm platform. Our platform comparison covers where each one fits.

Proof: what happened when Diamond R stopped counting on the feed yard

Diamond R Cattle is a fourth-generation Black Angus ranch in Independence, Kansas, run by Marty Reichenberger, selling shares within driving distance and shipping boxes nationwide on Shopify. In Marty’s words: “Back in May, I was concerned about what we were going to do with the cattle we had in the feed yard.”

After six city and state pages were built, product titles were rewritten to say what the customer gets, and email was launched, beef shares went from 0 to 11, orders from 27 to 75, new customers from 19 to 53, and Shopify sales from $5,110 to $35,812 (7x), comparing March 20 to April 18 against August 17 to September 15, 2026. That change took about three months. Selected-period comparison: slowest 30 days before vs. best 30 days after. It does not isolate the effect of marketing.

Eleven shares in the best 30 days is more than the two-head break-even above, in one month.

What doesn’t work

Pricing direct beef off the auction price. First-timers take the per-cwt price, add a little, and quote it per hanging pound. The buyer pays processing on top and never comes back. Price off what the customer takes home and what comparable ranches charge, not off what a packer paid.

Going direct with no slots booked. Without a slot, the animal keeps eating, the deposit holder keeps waiting, and the first refund you issue is the last time that family buys from you. Book the processor before you build the page.

Assuming every animal sells as a whole. Wholes are the easiest to fulfill and the hardest to sell. Plan for quarters and halves, and for the last quarter of the last animal to sit. That leftover is why a mix of shares and boxes beats shares alone.

Frequently asked questions

Is selling a steer direct worth more than the sale barn?

Usually yes, by several hundred dollars a head, if every share sells and a processor slot is booked. In the worked example a 1,300 lb steer nets about $3,778 as four quarters against $3,012 at the USDA-reported Kansas price, about $766 more before labor.

What is a 1,300 lb steer worth at auction right now?

About $3,012 at the $231.68 per cwt weighted average USDA reported for negotiated grid steers in Kansas, live basis, week ending September 20, 2026. That report covers packer purchases averaging 1,593 lb, so a lone 1,300 lb steer at a local barn would likely bring less.

How much does it cost to process a steer?

About $946 for an 806 lb carcass at one Kansas locker’s public rates: $75 butcher fee, $0.95 per pound, and a $105 surcharge for beef over 1,000 lb. Rates vary by plant and cut sheet; get your own processor’s rate sheet in writing.

When do you get paid selling beef shares?

In two payments: a deposit at reservation and the balance at processing, $1,600 and $3,600 in the example. The barn pays in days; shares pay over months, so plan feed costs around the processor date.

How far ahead should I book processor slots?

Before you list the first share, and for as many head as you expect to sell over two seasons. The processor’s calendar sets your selling calendar, and a second processor is cheap insurance.

Can I sell freezer beef to neighbors without a website?

Yes, for a few head a year, through a custom-exempt processor with the buyer paying the locker directly. It builds no customer list and does not scale past the people who already know you.

Run the numbers on your own cattle

Weighing the barn against a share program? Book a free 30-minute store and marketing audit, bring your processor’s rate sheet and last check stub, and we will run the comparison with your numbers. Schedule the free call, or call 435-212-0136. For the full picture, start with the complete guide to selling beef direct to consumer.


About the author. Herbert Timpson is a co-founder of Agriculture Marketing Agency, where he handles client coordination and implementation. He grew up raising sheep in Centennial Park, Arizona, worked sheep, cattle and crops in Mt. Pleasant, Utah, and keeps animals on his homestead.

Sources – USDA AMS, “Kansas Weekly Direct Slaughter Cattle Report” (LM_CT140), September 21, 2026, week ending September 20, 2026. https://www.ams.usda.gov/mnreports/ams_2470.pdf – USDA AMS and Kansas Dept. of Agriculture Market News, “Winter Livestock – Dodge City, KS,” September 23, 2026 (corrected September 25, 2026). https://www.ams.usda.gov/mnreports/ams_1889.pdf – SDSU Extension, “How Much Meat Can You Expect from a Fed Steer?” https://extension.sdstate.edu/how-much-meat-can-you-expect-fed-steer – Nebraska Extension BeefWatch, “How Many Pounds of Meat Can We Expect From A Beef Animal?” https://beef.unl.edu/beefwatch/2020/how-many-pounds-meat-can-we-expect-beef-animal – Mississippi State Extension P3489, “How Much Meat to Expect from a Beef Animal: Farm-Direct Beef” https://extension.msstate.edu/publications/how-much-meat-expect-beef-animal-farm-direct-beef – Kensington Lockers, “Processing Fees – BEEF,” checked September 26, 2026, a Kansas-area locker (785 area code). https://www.kensingtonlockers.com/processing-fees – Diamond R Cattle, Kansas City beef page, checked September 26, 2026. https://diamondrcattle.com/pages/kansas-city-beef-for-sale

Last updated: September 26, 2026