Beef Subscription Boxes: Pricing, Box Design, Churn and Fulfillment for Ranches

Meat e-commerce › Guides

Beef Subscription Boxes: Pricing, Box Design, Churn and Fulfillment for Ranches

By Herbert Timpson. Reading time: about 11 minutes. Last updated: September 26, 2026.

A beef subscription box is a standing order: the customer agrees to a box of beef on a set schedule and the card is charged each cycle. Ranches run it two ways. A fixed box ships every month from inspected inventory, or a harvest-timed share (an eighth of a beef, about 50 to 60 lb, every three months) is filled from the next animal and picked up or shipped. For a ranch that harvests a few head at a time, the harvest-timed share fits the calendar, keeps the box honest, and earns more per pound.

This guide is part of the Agriculture Marketing Agency meat e-commerce program. It covers the two models, the box, a priced example, churn, fulfillment from a few head at a time, and the tools with verified prices.

At a glance

  • An eighth of a typical beef weighs roughly 50 to 60 lb and fits the mostly empty freezer of a home refrigerator, about 4.8 cubic feet (Iowa State Extension, PM 2076).
  • Ground beef is the biggest line in a whole-animal box. SDSU’s example 1,200 lb steer yields about 490 lb of boneless beef, 185 lb of it ground (SDSU Extension).
  • Shopify Subscriptions is free and renews weekly, monthly or yearly; customers can pause, skip or cancel (Shopify App Store, Shopify Help Center, September 26, 2026).
  • Seal Subscriptions runs from $0 for up to 50 subscriptions to $24.95 a month for fixed schedules (Seal pricing, September 26, 2026).
  • From the Farm lists subscription and CSA box products on Premium at $119 a month (per its producers page, September 26, 2026).

Which subscription model fits a ranch: a monthly box or a harvest-timed share?

The fixed monthly box. A set weight, usually 10 to 20 lb, ships every month from inventory already in the freezer. It needs USDA or state inspected cuts, a stocked freezer of every cut in the box, and a shipping run every month. It suits a butcher shop or a ranch that processes steadily and holds inventory.

The harvest-timed share. The subscriber buys a share of an animal on a schedule. The house version is an eighth of a beef every three months: four deliveries a year add up to half a beef. Each delivery is filled from the next harvest, cut the week the animal is processed, and picked up on a scheduled day or shipped. The weight and the fixed contents are the same every cycle, with one featured cut that rotates.

For a ranch that harvests a few head at a time, the harvest-timed share fits. Four head at a harvest is 32 eighths, and you know the pounds coming before the animals leave the yard. A monthly box from the same ranch means promising steaks in March that you will not have until April, or tying up cash in a freezer of inventory.

It also matches what customers ask for. “Half a cow” is the term people search, but half a beef is 200 lb or more in one delivery and a chest freezer. The eighth every three months is the same half a beef spread across the year. Our beef share guide covers the one-time quarter, half and whole; this guide is the standing-order version. Note that a share of a live animal is custom exempt and a retail box of cuts is not; our custom exempt vs. USDA guide covers which route applies to each.

What goes in the box, and how do you keep it from being four chuck roasts in a row?

Start with the animal. SDSU’s example 1,200 lb steer gives about 490 lb of boneless trimmed beef: roughly 185 lb ground, 80 lb rib and loin steaks, 175 lb chuck and round roasts and 50 lb other cuts (SDSU Extension). Ground is about 38 percent of take-home on that example and steaks about 16 percent. A box that promises more steak than that, cycle after cycle, is subsidized by a freezer of unsold roasts and ground.

The eighth is the quarter cut sheet halved. A quarter is half of a side, front and hind cuts mixed. An eighth is that sheet cut in half again: steaks, roasts, ground and stew in counts that halve cleanly, roughly 50 to 60 lb per Iowa State (PM 2076). Our cut sheet guide walks through the form and the quarter and eighth answer.

Some cuts rotate. Each side of beef has one brisket, one flank, one skirt, one rump and one sirloin tip. Four eighths come off a side, so those single cuts cannot go in every eighth. The honest box lists the fixed contents every subscriber gets every time, then says “one of these rotates into your box each delivery”: a brisket half one cycle, flank or skirt the next, rump or sirloin tip after that. That sentence is the difference between a subscriber who trusts the box and one who feels shorted.

Rotation in a monthly box. Build four box recipes, one per quarter, and step every subscriber through them in order, with steaks and ground in every box. Put the plan on the product page; a subscriber who knows March is the roast month does not cancel in March.

Weight on the page. Say “about 50 lb,” because the locker decides the exact number, and say it needs about 2.25 cubic feet of freezer space (PM 2076). Our freezer space guide has every share size.

How do you price a beef subscription box?

Price from the animal up, then check it against the market. Every input is labeled. The cost inputs are placeholders, not market data; replace them with your processor invoice and your last sale barn quote.

Step 1: cost per take-home pound.

  • Live weight: 1,300 lb (assumption).
  • Dressing percentage: 62 percent, the low end of SDSU’s 62 to 64 percent for fed beef (SDSU Extension). Hanging weight: 1,300 × 0.62 = 806 lb.
  • Cutting yield: 65 percent, inside SDSU’s 55 to 75 percent range. Take-home: 806 × 0.65 = 524 lb.
  • Animal value: $2.00 per lb live (placeholder) × 1,300 = $2,600.00.
  • Processing: $1.25 per lb hanging (placeholder) × 806 = $1,007.50.
  • Cost per steer: $3,607.50. Cost per take-home pound: $3,607.50 ÷ 524 = $6.88.

Run your own animals through the hanging weight calculator; dressing percentage and cutting yield move this number more than anything else.

Step 2: the harvest-timed eighth, picked up locally.

  • Take-home weight: 50 lb. Stated take-home price: $12.00 per lb (assumption). Box price: 50 × $12.00 = $600.00.
  • Beef cost: 50 × $6.88 = $344.00.
  • Packaging for pickup: $5.00 (placeholder, two insulated bags; vacuum sealing is in the processing fee). Shipping: $0 at pickup.
  • Card fee on Shopify Basic: 2.9 percent of $600 plus 30 cents = $17.40 + $0.30 = $17.70 (Shopify pricing, September 26, 2026).
  • Margin: $600.00 − $344.00 − $5.00 − $17.70 = $233.30, or 38.9 percent of the price.

Step 3: the monthly 20 lb box, shipped.

  • Take-home weight: 20 lb. Stated take-home price: $14.00 per lb (assumption, higher because boxed cuts carry inspected processing and selection). Box price: 20 × $14.00 = $280.00, shipping included.
  • Beef cost: 20 × $6.88 = $137.60 (placeholder; inspected processing usually costs more per pound than custom exempt, so expect this line to rise).
  • Packaging: $41.00, a $25 foam kit plus $16 of dry ice, from our frozen beef shipping guide. Carrier: about $40.00 to a nearby zone on a 34 lb billable box, from the same guide.
  • Card fee: 2.9 percent of $280 plus 30 cents = $8.12 + $0.30 = $8.42.
  • Margin: $280.00 − $137.60 − $41.00 − $40.00 − $8.42 = $52.98, or 18.9 percent of the price.

At these inputs the eighth at pickup keeps about $233 a cycle and the shipped monthly box about $53, and the monthly box needs twelve fulfillments a year to the eighth’s four. If you ship the eighth, add kit, dry ice and carrier for two or three boxes and the margin narrows toward the monthly figure. Charge shipping as its own line at checkout.

Check it against the market. Diamond R Cattle lists a quarter at about $1,300 for 110 or more pounds of take-home beef (Diamond R Cattle, Kansas City page, checked September 26, 2026), which is $11.82 per lb. An eighth at $12.00 per lb sits just above the quarter’s rate, where a smaller, more convenient delivery belongs. Do not discount the subscription below your one-time share; a standing order that costs less per pound than the quarter teaches your best customers to wait for it.

Why do subscribers quit, and what stops it?

The freezer is full. Iowa State’s rule is 50 lb per 2.25 cubic feet (PM 2076). A household that has not eaten through the last eighth does not want the next one. The fix is the skip: one click moves the next delivery to the following cycle, and that beef goes to the next customer on the list.

Too much of one cut. Four chuck roasts in a row is a cancellation. The rotation above is the fix, and the page has to say it so the subscriber expects it.

The surprise charge. A card charged with no warning gets a chargeback, a cancellation, or both. Send a pre-charge email three to seven days before every renewal with the date, the amount, what is in the box this cycle, and a one-click link to skip or pause. Shopify’s free app offers “customizable email templates for order confirmations or payment reminders” (Shopify App Store); Seal lists “Send reminder about upcoming renewal” from its $5.95 tier (Seal on the Shopify App Store). Our email sequences guide has the renewal, pickup and restock emails written out.

Life happens. A move, a job change, a summer away. The pause is the fix: charging stops, the spot and rotation are kept, and it resumes when they say. Shopify’s help center says customers can “resume, skip, or cancel their subscriptions” and merchants can “modify, skip, pause, and cancel” (Shopify Help Center). A paused subscriber comes back; a canceled one has to be sold again.

Card failures. Shopify Subscriptions lets a merchant “adjust the number of billing reattempts and the interval between reattempts” and choose to “skip, pause, or cancel the subscription when all retry attempts have failed” (Shopify Help Center). Set the failure action to pause, and send a plain email asking for the new card.

How do you fulfill a subscription from a few head at a time?

The harvest calendar. Pick the delivery months first, then book the locker to hit them. A quarterly share needs four harvests a year about three months apart, each far enough ahead of its delivery month for hang time and cutting. Put the months on the product page (“Boxes go out in February, May, August and November”) and set a signup cutoff a few weeks before each one, so a late signup rolls to the next cycle.

Reserved inventory. Count subscribers before every harvest and hold their eighths back from the one-time share and box listings. If 12 subscribers are due in May and a head gives eight eighths, that is 1.5 head reserved before you sell a single quarter from that harvest. Put the count on the harvest sheet with the processor. When subscribers outnumber the harvest, close signups and open a waitlist; a waitlist sells better than an “in stock” button.

Pickup days. A pickup day is a scheduled window at the ranch or a drop point, announced in the pre-charge email and confirmed in a pickup email with the address, the window and what to bring (a cooler). Boxes not collected go back in the freezer and get one reschedule; put that rule on the page. For subscribers outside driving distance, ship the eighth in two or three boxes on a Monday or Tuesday per our shipping guide, charged at checkout.

The renewal shipping problem. A subscription app charges the renewal without the customer at checkout, so it cannot pull a live carrier rate that day. Set a flat rate on the subscription product for each zone you serve, make sure renewals keep the pickup or delivery choice made at signup, and test it with a real renewal before launch.

Which tools run a beef subscription?

Prices checked September 26, 2026.

Tool Price Intervals Pause, skip, cancel Reminder email Best fit
Shopify Subscriptions (Shopify’s own app) Free (App Store) “Weekly, monthly or yearly” (Help Center) Yes, customer and merchant Payment reminder templates Monthly box on Shopify
Seal Subscriptions Free to 50 subscriptions; Supersale $5.95 to 100; Rising Star $9.95 to 250; Legend $24.95 to 500 (Seal pricing) Custom intervals; “Fixed schedules” on Legend Yes, with a “Cancellation flow” on Legend “Send reminder about upcoming renewal” from Supersale (App Store) Harvest-timed share on Shopify
From the Farm Premium $119 a month or $1,188 a year (per its producers page) “Recurring monthly boxes that charge on their own” (per its producers page) Not stated Not stated Ranch on From the Farm

Shopify Subscriptions. Free, built by Shopify, and enough for a monthly box. The documented intervals are weekly, monthly and yearly; whether it offers an every-three-months option is the thing to test before building a quarterly share on it.

Seal Subscriptions. The reason to pay for Seal is the calendar. Its Legend tier lists “Fixed schedules,” which bill every subscriber on dates you set rather than on each signup anniversary, so February, May, August and November line up with your harvests. Seal’s pricing page and its App Store listing describe the tiers differently, so confirm the feature you need inside the app.

From the Farm. Its producers page lists “Subscription and CSA box products” on Premium, described as “Recurring monthly boxes that charge on their own” (per its producers page, September 26, 2026). Whether a Premium subscription can bill every three months on a fixed harvest date, and whether it can be pickup only, is not stated there. Ask From the Farm directly before building a quarterly share on it.

Our platform comparison covers the stores themselves, and the blog’s platform roundup has nine platforms with verified prices.

How AMA handles this

Agriculture Marketing Agency is an agriculture-only marketing agency. On a subscription, we treat the harvest calendar as the product: we work out the delivery months with the ranch and its processor, write the product page so the subscriber sees the weight, the fixed contents, the rotating cut and the delivery months before checkout, and build the emails around the calendar: the welcome, the pre-charge reminder with the skip and pause links, the pickup confirmation and the restock note. We price the subscription against the ranch’s one-time share so it never undercuts the quarter, and we route “half a cow” and “beef subscription” searches to the page that answers both. Joseph Timpson handles the SEO and technical work. Herbert Timpson handles client coordination and implementation, including the harvest count and the reserved inventory sheet.

Disclosure: AMA runs the marketing side of From the Farm’s Farm Direct Pro program. The From the Farm review in this guide uses only its public producers page, and we rank it where the numbers put it.

Proof: the marketing method behind a share page

Diamond R Cattle is a fourth-generation Black Angus ranch in Independence, Kansas, run by Marty Reichenberger, selling quarters, halves and wholes to families within driving distance and shipping boxes nationwide from a Shopify store. Before AMA, its biggest page was a burger doneness guide with thousands of readers a month and no beef sales, and its share pages sat on page two of Google in every delivery city. The work: every search classified by intent, recipe pages routed to the cuts they use, six city and state landing pages, product titles rewritten to say what the customer gets, email launched, ads rebuilt for warm audiences. The method is called the CROP Framework, and a subscription page needs the same things: a title that says what the customer gets, a page for each pickup city, and email that follows up.

Comparing March 20 to April 18 against August 17 to September 15, 2026 (Shopify), sales went from $5,110 to $35,812 (7x), beef shares from 0 to 11, new customers from 19 to 53 and orders from 27 to 75, over about three months. Selected-period comparison: slowest 30 days before vs. best 30 days after. It does not isolate the effect of marketing. The full story is in the Diamond R Cattle case study.

What doesn’t work

A subscription that ignores the harvest calendar. Signup-anniversary billing on a ranch that harvests four times a year means a renewal due in March with no animal until April. The subscriber is charged for beef that does not exist, or the ranch pulls from inventory it meant to sell as quarters. Fix the delivery months first and bill on them.

No pause option. A subscriber with a full freezer and no pause button cancels, and a canceled subscriber has to be sold from scratch. Turn on pause and skip on day one and put both links in every renewal email.

The same box every month. Four chuck roasts in a row reads as a warehouse, not a ranch. Rotate the featured cut, say so on the page, and name the cut in the pre-charge email.

Charging without a reminder. A renewal that lands with no warning is a chargeback waiting to happen. Send the amount, the date and what is in the box three to seven days out. A subscriber who reads “your May eighth has the brisket half” does not skip.

Discounting the subscription below the one-time share. A standing order at a lower price per pound than the quarter turns the quarter buyer into a subscriber who skips three cycles out of four.

Frequently asked questions

What is a beef subscription box?

A standing order for beef on a set schedule, charged to the customer’s card each cycle. Ranches run it as a fixed monthly box of inspected cuts, or as a harvest-timed share such as an eighth of a beef every three months, filled from the next animal and picked up or shipped.

How much beef is in an eighth?

Roughly 50 to 60 pounds from a typical beef, according to Iowa State Extension. An eighth is the quarter cut sheet halved, with single cuts like the brisket half, flank and rump rotating across the four eighths from a side.

Can a subscription be timed to my harvest dates?

Yes, with the right app. Seal Subscriptions lists fixed schedules on its Legend tier at $24.95 a month, which bills every subscriber on dates you choose. Shopify’s free app documents weekly, monthly and yearly renewals; test whether it fits a quarterly harvest before building on it.

Should subscribers get a discount?

No, not below your one-time share price per pound. Price the subscription at or just above the quarter’s rate and sell the convenience: cut the week of harvest, a household-sized delivery, a reserved place in every harvest.

Why do beef subscribers cancel?

A full freezer, too much of one cut, a surprise charge, a failed card, or a change in life. A skip option, a rotating cut named on the page, a pre-charge email, retries that pause instead of cancel, and a pause button handle all five.

Does the box have to ship?

No. A local pickup day keeps the full box price for beef, labor and margin, while a shipped 20 lb box loses about $81 to the kit, dry ice and carrier at a nearby zone. Sell pickup first and ship as the fallback, charged as its own line at checkout.

Get your subscription math checked

If you are planning a beef subscription box, or have one that is not renewing, book a free 30-minute store and marketing audit. We will run your animals through the cost per pound, set the delivery months against your locker dates, and check that pause, skip and the reminder email are on before the first renewal. Schedule the free call, or call 435-212-0136. For the wider picture, start at the meat e-commerce hub.


About the author. Herbert Timpson is a co-founder of Agriculture Marketing Agency, where he handles client coordination and implementation. He grew up raising sheep in Centennial Park, Arizona, worked sheep, cattle and crops in Mt. Pleasant, Utah, and keeps animals on his homestead.

Sources – Iowa State University Extension, PM 2076, purchasing meat by the carcass, freezer space and cutting yield examples. https://www.extension.iastate.edu/wayne/files/documents/PM2076.pdf – South Dakota State University Extension, How Much Meat Can You Expect from a Fed Steer? https://extension.sdstate.edu/how-much-meat-can-you-expect-fed-steer – Shopify Help Center, Shopify Subscriptions, September 26, 2026. https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/purchase-options/shopify-subscriptions – Shopify Help Center, Managing subscriptions with Shopify Subscriptions, September 26, 2026. https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/purchase-options/shopify-subscriptions/manage-subscriptions – Shopify App Store, Shopify Subscriptions listing, September 26, 2026. https://apps.shopify.com/shopify-subscriptions – Shopify pricing, Basic plan and online card rate, September 26, 2026. https://www.shopify.com/pricing – Seal Subscriptions pricing page, September 26, 2026. https://www.sealsubscriptions.com/pricing – Shopify App Store, Seal Subscriptions listing, September 26, 2026. https://apps.shopify.com/seal-subscriptions – From the Farm producers page, September 26, 2026. https://producers.fromthefarm.org – Diamond R Cattle, Kansas City page, September 26, 2026. https://diamondrcattle.com/pages/kansas-city-beef-for-sale

Last updated: September 26, 2026